## MINUTES OF THE REORGANIZATION MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION RIDGEWOOD COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 234 COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS HELD ON THURSDAY, APRIL 27, 2017

The Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Education, Ridgewood Community High School District 234, was held at Ridgewood High School, 7500 West Montrose Avenue, Norridge, Illinois on Thursday, April 27, 2017. President Parent called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Those present recited the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

#### **QUORUM DECLARED PRESENT**

Board Secretary Smith declared a quorum of the Board of Education of District 234 was present at 7:01 PM.

Present:Members Scott Parent, Paul Draniczarek, Maria P. Smith, Tony Caringella,<br/>Lisa Malicki, Chris O'Leary and Mike Straughn.Absent:None

Also present were Superintendent Jennifer Kelsall and those on the attached list.

D. Approved Minutes for April 24, 2017

Motion was made by Member Caringella and seconded by Member Draniczarek, to approve the minutes for the Regular Board meeting held on April 24, 2017 as presented, per Appendix I-D.

On voice vote, President Parent declared the motion carried.

E. Approved Executive Session Minutes for April 24, 2017

Motion was made by Member Straughn and seconded by Member Caringella, to approve the Executive Session minutes for the Regular Board meeting held on April 24, 2017 as presented, per Appendix I-E.

On voice vote, President Parent declared the motion carried.

#### II. COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

#### III. ADJOURN Sine Die

Motion was made by Member Smith and seconded by Member Straughn that the Board of Education of Ridgewood High School District 234 hereby adjourns *sine die* April 27, 2017.

On roll call, the following vote was taken:

 AYES: Members Parent, Draniczarek, Smith, Caringella, Malicki, O'Leary and Straughn
NAYS: None
ABSENT: None

President Parent declared the motion carried.

### IV. REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

## A. <u>Appoint President Pro Tempore</u>

The Board of Education appointed by consensus Mr. Tony Caringella as President *Pro Tempore*.

# B. Official Certificate of Results

The Official Certificate of Results from the Cook County Clerk's Office was confirmed claiming the following results for the Consolidated Election held on Tuesday, April 4, 2017.

Term of 2 Years: Frank DiPiero Term of 4 Years: Paul Draniczarek, Laura McGready, Chris O'Leary and Mike Straughn

## C. Administer Oath of Office to Newly Elected Board Members

The oath was administered to the newly elected Board members by Dr. Maria P. Smith.

### D. <u>Call to Order of New School Board by President Pro Tempore</u>

- 1. Call to order: 7:10 p.m.
- 2. Acting Recording Secretary Jennifer Kelsall declared a quorum of the Board of Education of District 234 was present at 7:10 PM.

Present: Members Tony Caringella, Frank DiPiero, Paul Draniczarek, Lisa Malicki, Laura McGready, Chris O'Leary and Mike Straughn.

# E. <u>Elected President of the Board of Education</u>

Paul Draniczarek was nominated as President of the Board of Education. Being there was only one member nominated, the President *Pro Tempore* declared the candidate elected by acclamation and directed the Recording Secretary to so record in the minutes.

# F. <u>Elected Vice-President of the Board of Education</u>

Mike Straughn was nominated as Vice-President of the Board of Education. Being there was only one member nominated, President Draniczarek declared the candidate elected by acclamation and directed the Recording Secretary to so record in the minutes.

### G. Elected Secretary of the Board of Education

Lisa Malicki was nominated as Secretary of the Board of Education. Being there was only one member nominated, President Draniczarek declared the candidate elected by acclamation and directed the Recording Secretary to so record in the minutes.

#### H. Appointed Recording Secretary to the Board of Education

Member Caringella moved, seconded by Member O'Leary, to appoint Mary Bruscato as the Recording Secretary to the Board of Education.

On voice vote, President Draniczarek declared the motion carried.

#### I. Established Regular Meeting Dates and Times

It is recommended that the Board of Education schedule the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. as the regular Board meeting date. Additional meetings may be held when and if needed. If "Special" meetings are needed they could be called on an as-needed basis. The schedule is provided as Appendix IV-I.

### J. Solicit Requests from Board Member Committee Assignments

The Board confirmed committee assignments and representatives for external groups as follows:

- Building and Grounds Subcommittee 3 Members Appoint <u>Tony Caringella, Chris O'Leary and Mike Straughn</u>
- 2. Finance/Audit Subcommittee 3 Members Appoint <u>Tony Caringella, Paul Draniczarek and Mike Straughn</u>
- Personnel Subcommittee 3 Members Appoint <u>Paul Draniczarek and Mike Straughn</u>
- 4. Co-Curricular Activities Subcommittee 3 Members Appoint Lisa Malicki, Chris O'Leary and Mike Straughn
- 5. Board Policy Subcommittee 3 Members Appoint <u>Frank DiPiero, Laura McGready and Chris O'Leary</u>
- Community Relations Subcommittee 3 Members Appoint <u>Frank DiPiero, Lisa Malicki and Laura McGready</u>
- Representative to District's Health Insurance Committee 1 Member Appoint <u>Mike Straughn</u>
- 8. Representative to District's Code of Conduct Committee Appoint <u>Chris O'Leary</u>

- 9. Representative to West Cook Division of IASB Appoint Laura McGready
- 10. Representative to Legislative Liaison to the IASB Appoint Laura McGready
- 11. All Board members are appointed as a whole for the Student Discipline Hearing Subcommittee.

Member Caringella moved, seconded by Member Straughn, to approve Appendices IV-I and IV-J as presented.

On voice vote, President Draniczarek declared the motion carried.

### V. <u>ADJOURNED</u>

Member Straughn moved and seconded by Member O'Leary, to adjourn the meeting at 7:16 p.m.

On voice vote, President Draniczarek declared the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer Kelsall, Acting Recording Secretary

APPROVED:

Paul Draniczarek, President

Lisa Malicki, Secretary